How much does it cost to print? Staples vs FedEx Office vs UPS Store vs Office Depot vs your library (2026)
If you need to print a few pages without a printer, you can use an office store, a shipping store, a pharmacy photo counter or a public library. This page lists only what each provider officially publishes for letter-size (8.5 × 11 in) pages, with a source for every figure. If a provider publishes no national price, we say so rather than guess.
How much does it cost to print a page? Side-by-side comparison
Prices are per letter-size page, single-sided, before tax, as each provider states them. "Not stated" means the provider's official page doesn't say. It does not mean the service is unavailable. Ask the location.
| Black & white, per page | Color, per page | Self-serve or staffed | Print from phone, email or USB | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Staples | From $0.34 on Staples' document printing page [1][2]. No self-serve per-page price published [3]. | From $0.82 [1][2] | Both: self-service machines where you "pay at the machine," plus orders uploaded online for pickup or delivery [1][3]. | Email or USB drive at self-service printers [3]. Online upload for pickup [1]. |
| FedEx Office | No national price published. The national page says "Prices vary by store" [4]. Example store pages: "starting at" $0.23 (Dallas) and $0.24 (Washington, DC) for self-service copiers [5][6]. | No national price published [4]. Example store pages: "starting at" $0.71 (Dallas) and $0.76 (Washington, DC) [5][6]. | Self-service at "most FedEx Office locations," plus online orders for in-store pickup [4]. | USB or cloud storage (OneDrive, Dropbox, Box) and Print & Go from a mobile device [4]. |
| The UPS Store | No national price published. Locations are "individually owned and operated" [7]. Example stores: $0.14 for 1–99 copies (Mechanicsburg, PA) and $0.15 (Warson Woods, MO) [8][9]. | No national price published [7]. Example stores: $0.53 for 1–49 copies (Mechanicsburg, PA) and $0.69 (Warson Woods, MO) [8][9]. | Staffed. The Warson Woods example says its prices are for "full service copies made for you by the staff" [9]. | Files "by e-mail, CD and USB or flash drives" [7]. |
| Office Depot / OfficeMax | Starting at $0.18 [10][11] | Starting at $0.70 on the document printing page [10]. Not stated on the self-service page [11]. | Both: in-store self-service printing, plus document printing orders [10][11]. | Email, My Files, Google Drive, Dropbox or a USB flash drive [11]. |
| CVS | 29¢ single-sided, 40¢ double-sided [12] | $1.19 single-sided, $1.30 double-sided [12] | Self-serve at a KODAK Picture Kiosk in "select CVS/pharmacy Stores" [12]. | USB thumb drive with PDF files, or paper originals to copy [12]. |
| Walgreens | $0.28 for 1–499 pages (32 lb. paper), ordered through Walgreens Photo [13] | $0.99 for 1–499 pages (32 lb. paper) [13] | Ordered online, with "free same day pickup" [14]. In-store self-serve printing: not stated. | Online upload [14]. |
| Public libraries | Varies by system: free up to an allowance, then $0.15 to $0.25 in our examples (see below). | Varies: $0.25 to $0.50 in our examples, and not available at all in one (see below). | Mostly self-service library printers and print release stations. | Many systems take jobs from your own device or by email (see below). |
How much does it cost to print at Staples?
Staples' document printing page says "From $0.34 per page in black & white" and "$0.82 per page in color." You upload files for pickup in store or delivery, in letter, legal or ledger size [1]. Orders placed by 12 pm are ready the same day for standard pickup, and delivery is free on Print & Marketing orders over $35 [1].
Staples' in-store printing page describes self-service machines that copy "in color and black & white" and print "from email or a USB drive." It says "Just pay at the machine and go," but it publishes no per-page self-serve price [3]. Staples' copies offer page repeats the "from 34¢" and "from 82¢" figures and mentions both online and in-store options. It doesn't say whether the price applies to self-service machines [2]. If you plan to use a self-serve machine, check the price on the machine.
How much does it cost to print at FedEx Office?
FedEx Office's national self-service page says "Prices vary by store. Contact your local store for details" [4]. Individual store pages do list figures. For example, the Dallas store on W Northwest Hwy lists self-service copies "starting at" $0.23 for black and white and $0.71 for color [5]. The Washington, DC store on Wisconsin Ave NW lists $0.24 and $0.76 [6]. Both are examples, and other stores may differ.
- Paying: you pre-authorize payment at the machine, and any unused balance is returned. Cash payment cards are sold at the counter [4].
- Paper: you can't bring your own paper [4].
- Online orders: "Most online orders are ready for in-store pickup within 24 hours" [4].
How much does it cost to print at The UPS Store?
The UPS Store publishes no national copy or print price. Its copies page says "Because all our locations are individually owned and operated, services may vary," and asks you to bring the job in or call for a quote [7]. Some stores post their own prices. Two examples:
- Mechanicsburg, PA (4900 Carlisle Pike): black and white letter-size copies are $0.14 each for 1–99, $0.12 for 100–499, $0.10 for 500–999 and $0.08 for 1,000 or more. Color on 28 lb. paper is $0.53 for 1–49, $0.50 for 50–99, $0.47 for 100–499 and $0.43 for 500 or more [8].
- Warson Woods, MO (9909 Manchester Road): $0.15 black and white and $0.69 color, letter size. "These are full service copies made for you by the staff. Prices are per page. Double sided counts as two copies. Stapling, folding, hole punching is extra. Tax not included" [9].
These are examples, not a national price. Check your own store's page or call it.
How much does it cost to print at Office Depot or OfficeMax?
Office Depot's document printing page says "Starting at $0.18 per page in black & white" and "$0.70 per page in color," in letter, legal and ledger sizes [10]. Orders placed by 2:00 PM local time can be ready the same day if you request it on the job ticket. Black and white jobs over 2,000 copies and color jobs over 1,000 aren't eligible for same-day [10].
The in-store self-service page lists "Copies Starting at $0.18" and doesn't state a color price [11]. Neither page says whether the starting price is for self-serve or counter printing. At self-service, Office Depot accepts major credit cards, its own gift cards and ODP Business Solutions cards. It says "Cash App, Apple Pay and Google Pay are not accepted" [11].
Can I print documents at CVS, Walgreens or Walmart?
- CVS: copy and print service is "available in select CVS/pharmacy Stores" at a KODAK Picture Kiosk. Black and white is 29¢ per page single-sided and 40¢ double-sided. Color is $1.19 single-sided and $1.30 double-sided [12]. The kiosk takes USB thumb drives with PDF files, or paper originals to copy [12]. The same page gives two different store counts (4,700 and 3,400), so check that your store offers it.
- Walgreens: Walgreens Photo's business printing price list shows letter-size, single-sided document printing on 32 lb. paper at $0.28 black and white and $0.99 color for 1–499 pages, and $0.23 and $0.94 for 500 or more [13]. You order online, with "free same day pickup" [14].
- Walmart: we found no official Walmart page for document printing. Select Walmart stores have a FedEx Office inside. FedEx's page for those locations lists in-store prices for items such as flyers and self-service scanning, but no per-page document printing price, and says "Pricing, products, and services may vary by location" [15]. Varies by location, so call ahead.
Where can I print for free? Public library printing
Each library system sets its own printing rules. Some give a free daily or weekly allowance, some charge from the first page, and some don't offer color. Here are seven real examples, taken from each library's own website:
| Library system | Black & white | Color | Free allowance | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver Public Library (CO) [16] | Free | Not stated | "Printing and copying is limited to 100 pages" (time period not stated) | "Free printing from library computers or mobile print from your own device." Letter or legal size, library paper only. |
| Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library (OH) [23] | $0.15 after the free pages | $0.25 after the free pages | Up to 33 black and white or 20 color pages per day | All 41 locations. Print from home, email or a mobile device. No library card needed. |
| Los Angeles Public Library (CA) [20] | $0.25 | $0.50 | $6.25 per day with a library card or Guest Pass | Letter size only. Cards, Apple Pay and Android Pay accepted, cash not accepted, $50 maximum per transaction. |
| Seattle Public Library (WA) [21] | $0.15 single-sided, $0.30 double-sided | $0.50 single-sided, $1.00 double-sided | 10 black and white or 3 color pages per week, reloading on Sunday | Letter or legal size. Email jobs to bw@spl.org or color@spl.org. Card payments up to $5 per transaction, cash up to $20. |
| Chicago Public Library (IL) [19] | 15¢ one-sided, 25¢ two-sided | "Color printing is not available" | First $1.50 each day | Cash only for additional printing. |
| New York Public Library (NY) [17][18] | $0.20 | Not stated on the branch printing pages | Children and teens: 10 pages per day | Printing from your own device at select branches, paid in person by cash or credit card. Printing from the library catalog is free. |
| Houston Public Library (TX) [22] | 15¢ | 50¢ | Not stated | $1 minimum charge per transaction and an automatic $5 credit card hold. |
These are examples, not a national average. Check your own library system's website or call your branch.
How to print from your phone or email
- Staples: email your file to staples@printme.com and wait for a confirmation email. At a self-service printer, choose Print, then Email, and enter or scan the 8-digit confirmation code [3].
- FedEx Office: the example store pages describe Print & Go. Email files to printandgo@fedex.com, get a retrieval code, then select PRINT at the self-service area [5][6]. FedEx's national page says Print & Go from a mobile device is for small-format printing [4].
- Office Depot / OfficeMax: print from email or upload in store. Office Depot says "all uploads are securely wiped after 24 hours" [11].
- The UPS Store: stores accept files by email, CD or USB drive [7]. Ask your store for its email address.
- Libraries: many systems take print jobs sent from your own device and hold them for pickup for a limited time: 2 hours at NYPL, 24 hours at Los Angeles and Cincinnati, and 3 days at Seattle [18][20][23][21].
Tips before you go
- Call ahead. FedEx Office says prices vary by store, and The UPS Store says services may vary because locations are independently owned [4][7]. Ask for the total for your page count, and whether the price is for self-serve or staff printing.
- Read the "from" prices carefully. Staples and Office Depot publish "from" or "starting at" prices [1][10]. Paper weight and quantity can change the price. Walgreens and one UPS Store example charge less per page for bigger jobs [13][8].
- Check how double-sided is billed. At the Warson Woods UPS Store, "Double sided counts as two copies" [9]. CVS and Seattle Public Library list separate double-sided prices [12][21].
- Watch for minimums and card holds. Houston Public Library has a $1 minimum and a $5 card hold [22]. FedEx Office pre-authorizes payment at the machine [4].
- Bring the right payment. Chicago Public Library takes cash only for extra printing, Los Angeles takes no cash, and Office Depot self-service doesn't take Apple Pay or Google Pay [19][20][11].
- Save your file as a PDF. CVS kiosks take PDF files from a USB drive [12], and FedEx Office self-service accepts PDF among other file types [4].
- Need to send it after you print it? Most of these stores also fax. See how much it costs to fax at The UPS Store, FedEx Office, Staples and libraries.
- Printing something that needs a notary stamp? See where to get something notarized and what it costs.
FAQ
How much does it cost to print at Staples?
Staples' document printing page lists "From $0.34 per page in black & white" and "$0.82 per page in color" [1]. Staples doesn't publish a separate per-page price for its self-service machines [3].
How much does it cost to print at FedEx Office?
FedEx Office's national page says "Prices vary by store" [4]. Example store pages list self-service copies "starting at" $0.23 to $0.24 for black and white and $0.71 to $0.76 for color [5][6].
How much does it cost to print at The UPS Store?
There's no national price. Locations are "individually owned and operated" [7]. Two example stores list $0.14 and $0.15 for black and white and $0.53 and $0.69 for color, per letter-size page [8][9].
How much does it cost to print at the library?
It depends on the system. In our examples, black and white costs $0.15 to $0.25 a page after any free allowance, and Denver Public Library lists free printing up to 100 pages [16][19][20][21][23]. See the library table.
Where can I print for free?
At some public libraries, up to a limit. Denver lists free printing limited to 100 pages, Cincinnati gives up to 33 black and white pages a day, Los Angeles gives $6.25 a day, Seattle gives 10 black and white pages a week, and Chicago gives the first $1.50 each day [16][23][20][21][19].
Can I print documents at CVS or Walgreens?
Yes. CVS lists 29¢ black and white and $1.19 color per single-sided page at kiosks in select stores [12]. Walgreens lists $0.28 black and white and $0.99 color for 1–499 letter-size pages ordered online for pickup [13][14].
Where can I print a shipping label?
FedEx Office's example store pages list "Get a shipping label" among their services [5][6]. The other official pages we checked don't say, so call the location.
Related guides
- How much it costs to fax: The UPS Store, FedEx Office, Staples and public libraries, including free library options.
- Where to get something notarized, and what it costs: banks, credit unions, libraries, AAA, The UPS Store and online notary, plus state fee limits.
- Where to get something notarized for free: bank notary policies, credit unions, libraries and AAA.
- Passport photo cost by store, and the official photo rules: Walmart, USPS, FedEx Office, Walgreens, CVS and The UPS Store.
- Where to scan documents: Staples, FedEx Office, The UPS Store, Office Depot, free library scanners and phone apps.
- Where to shred documents: per-pound prices at Staples, Office Depot, The UPS Store and FedEx Office, plus free county and credit union shred days.
- Where to make photocopies: per-page copy prices at Staples, FedEx Office, The UPS Store, CVS and public libraries.
Sources
All sources last checked Oct 27, 2026. Store-level pages are examples, and other locations may differ.
- Staples, "Document Printing": staples.com/services/printing/copies-documents-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Staples, "Copies" offer page: staples.com/services/printing/offers/color-copies-and-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Staples, "In Store Printing": staples.com/services/printing/in-store-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- FedEx Office, "In-Store Self-Service Copy & Printing": office.fedex.com/default/copy-and-print-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5962 W Northwest Hwy, Dallas, TX: store page: local.fedex.com/en-us/tx/dallas/office-0178 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5225 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington, DC: store page: local.fedex.com/en-us/dc/washington/office-0388 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- The UPS Store, "Copies": theupsstore.com/print/copies (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- The UPS Store, 4900 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA: "Copies & Documents" store page: locations.theupsstore.com/pa/mechanicsburg/4900-carlisle-pike/copies-&-documents (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- The UPS Store, 9909 Manchester Road, Warson Woods, MO: "Copies & Documents" store page: locations.theupsstore.com/mo/warson-woods/9909-manchester-road/copies-&-documents (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Office Depot, "Document Printing": officedepot.com/l/print-and-copy/document-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Office Depot, "In-store Self-Service Printing": officedepot.com/l/print-and-copy/self-service-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- CVS Photo, "Copy & Print Service": cvs.com/photo/copy-print-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Walgreens Photo Help, "Business Printing Pricing": wagcco.my.salesforce-sites.com/pkb2/articles/en_US/Knowledge/Business-Printing-Pricing-2-0v (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Walgreens Photo, "Business Printing & Same Day Pickup": photo.walgreens.com/store/business-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- FedEx Office, "FedEx Office inside Walmart": office.fedex.com/default/walmart (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Denver Public Library, "Need a Computer, Internet, or Printing?": denverlibrary.org/tech/techaccess (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New York Public Library, "Reserving a Computer" (printing): nypl.org/help/services/computers-internet-and-wireless-access/reserve-computers (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New York Public Library, "Print Direct from Your Personal Device at Select NYPL Branches": nypl.org/help/services/mobile-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Chicago Public Library, "How much does printing cost?": chipublib.org/faqs/how-much-does-printing-and-copying-cost (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Los Angeles Public Library, "Free Printing at the Library": lapl.org/print (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- The Seattle Public Library, "Print & Copy": spl.org/using-the-library/…/print-and-copy (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Houston Public Library, "Mobile Print": houstonlibrary.org/mobile-print (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library, "Fax and Print": chpl.org/services/fax-print (last checked Oct 27, 2026)