Where to get something notarized, and what it costs (2026)
You have more options than you might think, and some are free. This page covers The UPS Store, banks and credit unions, public libraries, AAA, and FedEx Office's online notary. It lists only what each one officially publishes, with a source for every figure.
Not legal advice. This page is general information. A notary can't tell you what your document should say, and neither can we. For that, ask an attorney or whoever asked you for the document.
Side-by-side comparison
"Not stated" means the official page doesn't say. Ask the location.
| Price | Who can use it | Appointment? | Notes | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The UPS Store (in person) | No national price published. Store pages show local prices, e.g. $2 per signature (Poughkeepsie, NY), $6 per signature (Grapevine, TX), $10 per principal signature (Charlotte, NC) [2][4][3]. | Anyone. Notary is "available at participating locations" [1]. | Varies by store. Some list notary hours and online booking [2]. | Stores are independently owned franchises, and prices and hours "may vary by location" [5]. "Many" stores don't notarize I-9 forms or wills, so call first [1]. |
| Banks (examples) | Bank of America: "does not charge a fee for notary services." Its FAQ says customers get it "at no charge for most types of transactions" [6]. U.S. Bank: no fee published [8]. | Bank of America: provided "to Bank of America customers" at some financial centers [6]. U.S. Bank: "many of our branches" [8]. | Bank of America: you schedule a financial center appointment [6]. U.S. Bank: "Optional" [8]. | Chase's education page says banks "may" offer free notary to account holders and that availability differs by location. It publishes no Chase-specific fee [9]. |
| Credit union (example) | Navy Federal: Navy Federal documents free. Other documents: first 2 per week free, then $5.00 each (not above the local legal maximum) [10]. | Members. | Not stated. | Not offered in Louisiana. California: Navy Federal documents only. Won't notarize wills, advance directives, I-9s or vital records [10]. |
| Public libraries (examples) | Free at Ann Arbor District Library (MI) and Columbus Metropolitan Library (OH) [11][12]. | Ann Arbor: the public, no library card needed [11]. | Both: by appointment only [11][12]. | Columbus lists documents it won't notarize, including deeds, wills, trusts and powers of attorney [12]. Policies vary widely by library. |
| AAA (example club) | AAA Hoosier: free for members [15]. | Members. Bring your membership card [15]. | "Please make an appointment" [15]. | AAA is run by regional clubs. This is one club's policy, so check yours. |
| FedEx Office Online Notary (with Notarize) | $25 for a single document. Each additional seal $15, each witness $15 [13]. Notarize's own pricing page also lists $10 per additional signer [14]. | Done online on your own device. FedEx stores don't notarize in person [13]. | No. Available "24/7/365" [13]. | Requires a government photo ID and a U.S. Social Security number. Not for documents to be used outside the US [13]. Proof is Notarize's parent company [13]. |
Other options: mobile notaries who travel to you exist, usually for an added fee, according to Chase's guide [9]. We haven't sourced national details for county or court offices, so we don't list them here.
State maximum notary fees: they vary by state
Each state sets the most a notary may charge for a notarial act, and some count per signature while others count per act or per document. Here are some examples from official state sources:
| State | Maximum fee (in person) | Remote / electronic | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|
| California | $15 per signature for an acknowledgment. $15 for a jurat or oath | California notaries can't currently perform remote online notarizations (see below) | Gov. Code § 8211, CA Notary Public Handbook 2026 [16] |
| Colorado | $15 per document | $25 maximum | Colorado Secretary of State FAQ [21] |
| Florida | $10 per notarial act | $25 per online notarial act (platform fees not covered) | Fla. Stat. § 117.05, § 117.275 [18][19] |
| New York | $2 for an oath/affirmation or an acknowledgment | Not covered in the source we used | NY Department of State FAQ [20] |
| North Carolina | $10 per notarized principal signature | Not covered in the source we used | N.C.G.S. § 10B-31 [22] |
| Texas | Acknowledgment: $10 first signature, $1 each additional. Oath with certificate: $10 | Not covered in the source we used | Texas Secretary of State (Gov. Code § 406.024) [17] |
These are maximums. A notary may charge less, and free services (banks, libraries) charge nothing. Other services, such as travel, may be billed separately where state law allows. Colorado, for example, requires them to be itemized and disclosed in advance [21]. For any other state, check its secretary of state's notary page.
Remote online notarization (RON): the basics
- What it is: you and a commissioned notary meet over live audio-video instead of in the same room. Your identity is checked with ID and other verification steps [13][23].
- Not every state authorizes it. The National Association of Secretaries of State says "47 states and the District of Columbia" have a law allowing remote e-notarization, and that requirements "vary among states" [23]. California's own handbook says California notaries can't currently perform RON. Its Online Notarization Act takes effect once the state finishes a technology project, or by January 1, 2030 at the latest [16].
- The receiving agency decides what it accepts. For example, the U.S. State Department accepts an electronically notarized parental consent form (DS-3053) for a child's passport "if it is allowed under state law," and you must bring a printed copy [24][25].
- Some documents don't fit. FedEx Office's online notary says certain documents "have unique restrictions." It tells you to check with the document's recipient, and it doesn't handle documents for use outside the US [13].
Want to notarize online? You can start a session directly with Notarize (Proof) (paid link), the service behind FedEx Office's online notary [13]. See its pricing page for current fees [14], and check with whoever receives your document that they accept online notarization first.
What to bring
- A valid government-issued photo ID for every signer [1][12]. California notaries must identify the signer by "satisfactory evidence" [16].
- Every signer in person, plus any required witnesses [6][12]. Not every location supplies witnesses [1].
- The complete, unsigned document, all pages and not just the signature page. Bank of America and Columbus Metropolitan Library both say not to sign beforehand [6][12].
- A membership card if you're using a members-only service such as AAA [15].
Common reasons a notary says no
- The signer isn't physically there. Texas: "The person whose signature is notarized must personally appear before the notary" [17]. California likewise requires physical presence for in-person notarization [16].
- No acceptable ID [7][12].
- The document is incomplete or has blank spaces. California notaries "must refuse" a document that is clearly incomplete [16]. Bank of America lists "missing pages or blank spaces that affect the intent of the document" [7].
- You need legal help, not a notary. A notary who isn't an attorney can't give legal advice or prepare your document. Texas requires notaries who advertise in other languages to state, "I AM NOT AN ATTORNEY LICENSED TO PRACTICE LAW IN TEXAS AND MAY NOT GIVE LEGAL ADVICE" [17], and The UPS Store's page says its notaries are not allowed to "give advice on legal matters" [1].
- That location doesn't handle that document type. Examples: I-9s and wills at many UPS Stores, and deeds, wills and powers of attorney at Columbus libraries [1][12].
- The signer and notary can't communicate directly, or the notary believes the signer doesn't understand what they're signing [7].
FAQ
How much does a notary cost?
It depends on your state's maximum and on where you go. State maximums in our examples range from $2 (New York) to $15 (California, Colorado) for an in-person act [20][16][21]. Some banks, credit unions, libraries and AAA clubs charge nothing [6][10][11][15].
Does The UPS Store have a set notary price?
Not nationally. Its stores are independently owned franchises, and prices may vary by location [5]. Individual store pages show prices such as $2, $6 and $10 per signature in different states [2][4][3].
Can I get something notarized at FedEx Office?
Not in person. FedEx Office offers an online notary with Notarize that you use on your own device. A store can help you scan and print before and after [13].
Is notarization free at Bank of America?
Bank of America says it "does not charge a fee for notary services." Its FAQ adds that notary service is available at some financial centers and provided to customers "at no charge for most types of transactions" [6].
Is online notarization accepted everywhere?
No. Authorization varies by state, and California notaries can't currently perform it [23][16]. Whoever receives your document decides what it accepts, so ask them first.
Sources
All sources last checked Oct 21, 2026. Store and club pages are examples, and other locations may differ.
- The UPS Store, "Notary Services": theupsstore.com/store-services/notary-services (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store, 2600 South Rd, Poughkeepsie, NY: notary page: locations.theupsstore.com/ny/poughkeepsie/2600-south-rd-route-9/notary (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store, 9935 Rea Rd, Charlotte, NC: notary page: locations.theupsstore.com/nc/charlotte/9935-rea-rd/notary (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store, 1527 W State Hwy 114, Grapevine, TX: notary page: locations.theupsstore.com/tx/grapevine/1527-w-state-hwy-114/notary (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store press release (franchise and pricing disclaimer): theupsstore.com/about/pressroom/franchise-500-2025 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Bank of America, "Notary Services": bankofamerica.com/signature-services/notary; also the Financial Center FAQs: bankofamerica.com/help/financial-center-faqs (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Bank of America, "Understanding notary services at Bank of America" (PDF): bankofamerica.com/content/pdf/en_us/PCHNotaryEn.pdf (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- U.S. Bank, "How can I get my documents notarized in a branch?": usbank.com/customer-service/knowledge-base/KB0069524.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Chase, "What Are Notary Services?": chase.com/personal/banking/education/basics/what-are-notary-services (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Navy Federal Credit Union, "Fees & Charges" (Notary Public Service): navyfederal.org/membership/fees-and-charges.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Ann Arbor District Library, "AADL Notary Services": aadl.org/notary (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Columbus Metropolitan Library, "Notary Service": columbuslibrary.org/notary-service (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- FedEx Office, "FedEx Office Online Notary with Notarize": office.fedex.com/default/online-notary (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Notarize, "Pricing": notarize.com/pricing (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- AAA Hoosier, "AAA Notary Service": hoosier.aaa.com/membership/notary-service (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- California Secretary of State, Notary Public Handbook 2026 (includes Gov. Code § 8211, § 8205, and the online notarization FAQ): notary.cdn.sos.ca.gov/forms/notary-handbook-current.pdf (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Texas Secretary of State, "Notary Public Educational Information": sos.texas.gov/statdoc/edinfo.shtml (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Florida Statutes § 117.05 (2026): flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2026/0117.05 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Florida Statutes § 117.275 (2026): flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2026/117.275 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- New York Department of State, "Notary Public: Frequently Asked Questions": dos.ny.gov/notary-public-frequently-asked-questions (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Colorado Secretary of State, Notary Public FAQs: Fees: coloradosos.gov/pubs/notary/FAQ/fees.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- North Carolina General Statutes § 10B-31: ncleg.gov … GS_10B-31 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- National Association of Secretaries of State, "Remote Electronic Notarization": nass.org/initiatives/remote-electronic-notarization (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, "Apply for a Child's Passport Under 16": travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/child/under-16.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- U.S. Embassy & Consulates in the UK, "Acceptability of Online Notary Services for U.S. Passport Application Purposes": uk.usembassy.gov/…online-notary-services… (last checked Oct 21, 2026)