Guide · Scanning · All figures last checked

Where to scan documents: free and paid options (2026)

If you need a paper document as a PDF, you can use a self-service machine at an office or shipping store, a public library scanner, or your phone. This page lists only what each provider officially publishes, with a source for every figure. Most stores don't publish a national scanning price, and we say so rather than guess.

Short version: several big public library systems let you scan for free, usually to a USB drive or email (see examples). Staples, FedEx Office and Office Depot have self-service scanning, but none publishes a national per-page price [1][2][7]. The UPS Store says only some locations scan [5]. Your phone can also scan to a PDF with Apple Notes or the Google Drive app [15][16]. Prices vary by location, so call ahead.

Where can I scan documents? Side-by-side comparison

"Not stated" means the provider's official page doesn't say. It does not mean the service is unavailable. Ask the location.

PriceSelf-serve or staffedWhere the scan goes
Staples No national price published. Self-service machines: "Just pay at the machine and go" [1]. Varies by location; call ahead. Self-service [1] Email or USB drive [1]
FedEx Office No national price published. "Prices vary by store" [2]. Example: $0.39 per page at FedEx Office inside Walmart, in-store only at participating locations [4]. Self-service at "most locations," with team members to help [2]. Example store pages also list full-service scanning [3]. Email, USB drive or cloud storage, as PDF or JPG [2]
The UPS Store No national price published. Example store: "Scanning from $2.00" (Warson Woods, MO), unit not stated [6]. Staffed at the example store [6]. Only "some of our locations" scan [5]. Not stated nationally. Ask your store.
Office Depot / OfficeMax No price stated on the self-service page [7]. Varies by location; call ahead. Self-service at "any store" [7] Email, cloud or USB [7]
Public libraries Free in five of our six examples. Boston lists $0.05 (see below). Self-service scanners or library copiers Usually USB drive or email, sometimes cloud or phone (see below)
Your phone No per-page fee is listed on Apple's or Google's help pages [15][16]. You do it yourself Apple Notes or Files (iPhone, iPad), or Google Drive as a PDF (Android, iPhone) [15][16]

Where can I scan documents for free?

Your best bet is a public library. In the examples below, Seattle, Chicago, Houston and San Francisco all say scanning is free, at least to a USB drive or email [8][9][10][11]. Bring your own USB drive, since Houston's printers scan "to a USB (Flash) drive only" [10].

Your phone is the other option. Apple's help page shows how to scan with the Notes app or the Files app on an iPhone or iPad [15]. Google's help page shows how to scan to a searchable PDF with the Google Drive app on Android or iOS [16]. See the steps below.

How much does it cost to scan at Staples?

Staples doesn't publish a scanning price. Its in-store printing page says you can "Copy, print, scan and fax all in one place. Just pay at the machine and go," and "Scan documents to email or upload to a USB drive" [1]. No national price published, so check the price on the machine or call your store.

How much does it cost to scan at FedEx Office?

FedEx Office's scanning page says self-service scanning "is available at most locations," and "Prices vary by store. Contact your local store for details" [2]. How it works, from that page [2]:

Two examples of store-level pricing:

These are examples, not a national price. Other stores may differ.

How much does it cost to scan at The UPS Store?

The UPS Store publishes no national scanning price, and not every store scans. Its copies page says "Some of our locations have the capability to capture your hardcopy documents and convert them to digital format. Contact your neighborhood location" [5]. For example, the Warson Woods, MO store (9909 Manchester Road) lists "Scanning from $2.00" among services it says are "full service and provided by the staff." The page doesn't say whether that's per page or per job [6]. Its scanning page adds that "Products, services, pricing and hours of operation may vary by location" [6]. Call your store for its price.

How much does it cost to scan at Office Depot or OfficeMax?

Office Depot's self-service page says "Bring your files or photos to any store and use our self-service printer to scan them," and you can "Scan to email, cloud, or USB." It doesn't state a scanning price [7]. Varies by location; call ahead.

Can I scan at CVS, Walgreens or Walmart?

Can I scan at the library? Six real examples

Each library system sets its own rules. Here are six examples, taken from each library's own website:

Library systemPriceWhere the scan goesNotes
Seattle Public Library (WA) [8]FreeUSB, email, OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox, smartphone (QR code) or faxScanEZ kiosks at all locations, 17" x 12" scanning area. Saves as PDF, searchable PDF, Word, TIFF, JPEG or PNG.
Chicago Public Library (IL) [9]Free to scan to USB or emailUSB, email, print, Google Drive or smartphone (QR code)"Most CPL locations have scanners." Printing a scan is 15 cents per single-sided black and white page.
Houston Public Library (TX) [10]FreeUSB on all public printers. Listed locations also have SimpleScan for email or print.Bring your own USB drive.
San Francisco Public Library (CA) [11]FreeEmail, fax or USB drive"Scanning to email, fax or USB drive is free." Not available on bookmobiles.
Boston Public Library (MA) [12]$0.05 (as listed: "Scanning: $0.05")Not statedLibrary card holders get $20 of free printing each month. The page doesn't say whether that credit covers scanning.
Denver Public Library (CO) [13]Not statedEmail"You may also scan documents and send them to your email." Listed among services at all open locations.

These are examples, not a national average. Check your own library system's website or call your branch.

How do I scan a document with my phone?

We list these because their makers publish official instructions. This is not a ranking of scanning apps.

Tips before you go

  1. Call ahead. FedEx Office says prices vary by store, and The UPS Store says only some locations scan [2][5]. Ask the price per page and how many pages you have.
  2. Bring a USB drive. Houston's free scanning is to USB only [10], and FedEx Office allows larger files on USB (60 MB) than by email (9 MB) [2].
  3. Watch email size limits. A long, high-resolution scan may be too big to email. FedEx Office says resolution and page count affect file size [2].
  4. Need to send it by fax instead? Seattle's ScanEZ kiosks can send free faxes to the US and Canada [8]. For store prices, see how much it costs to fax.
  5. Need a paper copy too? See how much it costs to print at Staples, FedEx Office, The UPS Store, Office Depot and libraries.

FAQ

Where can I scan documents for free?

At many public libraries. Seattle, Chicago, Houston and San Francisco say scanning is free, at least to USB or email [8][9][10][11]. You can also scan with your phone using Apple Notes or the Google Drive app [15][16].

How much does it cost to scan at Staples?

Staples publishes no scanning price. Its self-service machines let you scan to email or USB, and you "pay at the machine" [1]. Check the price on the machine or call your store.

How much does it cost to scan at FedEx Office?

FedEx Office says "Prices vary by store" [2]. One example: FedEx Office locations inside Walmart list self-service scanning at $0.39 per page [4].

Does The UPS Store scan documents?

Some locations do. The UPS Store says "Some of our locations" can convert hard copies to digital and asks you to contact your store [5]. One example store lists "Scanning from $2.00" [6].

Can I scan a document to email?

Yes, at Staples, FedEx Office and Office Depot self-service machines [1][2][7], and at library scanners in Seattle, Chicago, San Francisco and Denver [8][9][11][13].

Can I scan with my phone instead?

Yes. Apple shows how to scan in the Notes and Files apps on iPhone and iPad [15]. Google shows how to scan to a PDF in the Google Drive app on Android and iOS, but not on the Drive website [16].

Sources

All sources last checked Oct 27, 2026. Store-level pages are examples, and other locations may differ.

  1. Staples, "In Store Printing" (self-service copy, print, scan and fax): staples.com/services/printing/in-store-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  2. FedEx Office, "In-Store Self-Service Scanning: Documents & Photos": office.fedex.com/default/scanning-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  3. FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5962 W Northwest Hwy, Dallas, TX: store page: local.fedex.com/en-us/tx/dallas/office-0178 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  4. FedEx Office, "FedEx Office inside Walmart": office.fedex.com/default/walmart (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  5. The UPS Store, "Copies" (FAQ: "Can you scan my hardcopy originals into electronic form?"): theupsstore.com/print/copies (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  6. The UPS Store, 9909 Manchester Road, Warson Woods, MO: "Copies & Documents" and "Faxing & Scanning" store pages: locations.theupsstore.com/…/copies-&-documents and locations.theupsstore.com/…/faxing-&-scanning (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  7. Office Depot, "In-store Self-Service Printing" (self-service scanning): officedepot.com/l/print-and-copy/self-service-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  8. The Seattle Public Library, "Scan, Fax & Translate": spl.org/using-the-library/…/scan-fax-and-translate (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  9. Chicago Public Library, "Scanners" FAQs: chipublib.org/faq/scanners (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  10. Houston Public Library, "Mobile Print" (Scanning for Free): houstonlibrary.org/mobile-print (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  11. San Francisco Public Library FAQ, "Printing, Copying, Scanning, and Faxing at the Library": sfpl.libanswers.com/faq/341987 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  12. Boston Public Library, "How much does printing and copying cost?": bpl.org/faqs/how-much-does-printing-and-copying-cost (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  13. Denver Public Library, "Need a Computer, Internet, or Printing?": denverlibrary.org/tech/techaccess (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  14. CVS Photo, "Copy & Print Service": cvs.com/photo/copy-print-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  15. Apple Support, "How to scan documents on your iPhone or iPad": support.apple.com/en-us/108963 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  16. Google Drive Help, "Scan documents with Google Drive": support.google.com/drive/answer/3145835 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)