Where to fax and what it costs: UPS Store vs FedEx Office vs Staples vs your library (2026)
If you need to send a fax without a fax machine, you have four common options in the US. This page lists only what each provider officially publishes, with a source for every figure. If a provider publishes no national price, we say so rather than guess.
Side-by-side comparison
"Not stated" means the provider's official page doesn't say. It does not mean the service is unavailable. Ask the location.
| FedEx Office | The UPS Store | Staples | Public libraries | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Published price to send (US) | "Starting at" $2.19 local, $2.49 domestic, per FedEx store pages [2][3]. The national fax page says "Prices vary by store" [1]. The store pages don't say whether this is per page or for the first page. | No national price published. Stores are independently owned franchises, and "Services, prices, and hours of operation… may vary by location" [4][6]. | No national price published on Staples' in-store services page. It says "pay at the machine" [7]. | Varies by library system: from free to $1.75 for the first page in our examples (see below). |
| International send | Supported. "International availability may vary by location." No international price published [1]. | Not stated on official pages. | Supported ("local, long-distance and international faxing"). No price published [7]. | Varies. Example: $3.95 first page + $3.45 each additional at Mid-Continent (MO) and Carlsbad (CA) [12][13]. |
| Receiving faxes | "Some FedEx Office locations" receive faxes for pickup, paid at the counter [1]. Store pages: "Pricing starts at $1.59 to receive a fax" [2][3]. | Yes. The national page lists "sending and receiving faxes" [4]. No price published. | Not stated on Staples' official page [7]. | Usually not. Four of our five examples say they send only [8][10][12][13]. |
| Self-serve or staffed | Self-service copier stations. A team member can send at the counter if you prefer, with availability and pricing varying by location [1]. | Staff-assisted: "Our team is always happy to help" [4]. | Self-service, part of "Self-service printing" [7]. | Mostly self-service machines or copiers [8][12]. |
| Cover sheet | "Complimentary fax cover sheet" [1]. | Not stated on official pages. | Not stated on official page. | Cincinnati: the library provides one [9]. Others: not stated. |
| Confirmation page | Printed confirmation [1]. | "You will receive a confirmation sheet… if it didn't complete the first time, we'll send your transmission again" (store page) [5]. | "Printed confirmation" [7]. | Varies. Cincinnati offers one [9]. Denver: "you will not receive a confirmation receipt" [8]. |
| Payment / account | No account needed. You pre-authorize payment at the copier, and cash payment cards are sold at the counter [1]. | Not stated. | "Pay at the machine" [7]. | Some take credit/debit card only (Mid-Continent, Carlsbad) [12][13]. |
| Hours / availability | Only at locations with self-service copiers. "Availability can vary by store" [1]. | Hours vary by location [6]. Check the store's own page. | Not stated nationally. Check your store. | During library opening hours. Some systems have fax at only some branches (e.g., Carlsbad: Cole and Dove libraries) [13]. |
Per-page vs flat pricing
Every in-store option we checked charges per transmission or per page, not a flat fee:
- First-page + additional-page pricing: Mid-Continent Public Library and Carlsbad City Library charge $1.75 for the first US page and $1.00 for each additional page [12][13].
- Flat per-page pricing: Orange County Library System (FL) charges $0.50 per page, tax included, "for all types of faxes" [10].
- Free: Denver Public Library and Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library [8][9].
- FedEx Office publishes only "starting at" figures, and they're tied to individual stores [2][3]. Ask the store for the total for your page count before you send.
Public libraries: policies vary by system
Each library system sets its own fax rules. Some offer fax free, some charge, some have it only at certain branches, and many don't receive faxes. Here are five real examples, taken from each library's own website:
| Library system | Send (US) | International | Receive? | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Denver Public Library (CO) [8] | Free | Not stated | No ("you can only send faxes") | Sent from library copiers. No confirmation receipt, so confirm delivery with the recipient. |
| Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library (OH) [9] | Free, no page limit | Not stated | Not stated | All locations. No library card needed. Cover sheet provided, printed confirmation available. "About a minute per page." |
| Orange County Library System (FL) [10][11] | $0.50/page incl. tax | $0.50/page ("all types of faxes") | No | Fax machines at all locations. |
| Mid-Continent Public Library (MO) [12] | $1.75 first page, $1.00 each additional | $3.95 first page, $3.45 each additional | No | Any branch. Card payment only. Kiosks run by an outside company. |
| Carlsbad City Library (CA) [13] | $1.75 first page, $1.00 each additional | $3.95 first page, $3.45 each additional | No | Cole and Dove libraries only. Debit/credit card only. |
These are examples, not a national average. Check your own library system's website or call your branch.
Tips before you go
- Call ahead. Ask whether that location faxes today, the total for your page count and destination, and whether international is supported. FedEx Office and The UPS Store both say services or pricing vary by location [1][6].
- Bring or prepare a cover sheet. Put the recipient's name, fax number, your contact details and the page count on it. FedEx Office provides one free [1]. Elsewhere, ask whether it's free and whether it counts as a billed page.
- Ask about confirmation. Not every option gives you proof of sending. Denver Public Library, for example, gives no receipt [8]. If you need proof, use a place that prints a confirmation page, and keep it.
- Double-check the fax number before sending, including any country code for international faxes.
- Take your originals with you, and don't leave confirmation pages behind.
- Need to receive a fax? Most library examples above can't receive. Ask a store for its fax number and its pickup fee first.
An alternative: online fax services
Online fax services also exist. They let you send a fax from a phone or computer without visiting a store, and pricing models vary (often a monthly plan, sometimes a free trial or pay-per-use). We haven't tested these services and don't rank them. Check each service's own pricing page before you sign up, and cancel any trial you don't want to keep.
- iFax (paid link)
Listed for convenience, not ranked or tested. We may earn a commission if you sign up through this link. How affiliate links work here.
FAQ
How much does it cost to fax at The UPS Store?
The UPS Store publishes no national fax price. Its locations are independently owned franchises, and the company says "Services, prices, and hours of operation… may vary by location" [6]. Call your local store for its rate.
How much does FedEx Office charge to send a fax?
FedEx Office store pages say pricing "starts at $2.19 to send a local fax and $2.49 to send a domestic fax," and "starts at $1.59 to receive a fax" [2][3]. FedEx's national fax page notes that "Prices vary by store" [1].
Can I fax for free?
At some public libraries, yes. Denver Public Library and Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library both list free outgoing faxing [8][9]. Other libraries charge (see the library table).
Can I receive a fax at the library?
Often not. Denver, Orange County (FL), Mid-Continent (MO) and Carlsbad (CA) all say their machines send only [8][10][12][13]. Cincinnati's page doesn't mention receiving [9].
Does Staples send international faxes?
Staples' in-store printing page lists "local, long-distance and international faxing along with a printed confirmation." It does not publish a price [7].
Sources
All sources last checked Oct 21, 2026. Store-level pages are examples, and other locations may differ.
- FedEx Office, "In-store self-service fax services": office.fedex.com/default/fax-services (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5962 W Northwest Hwy, Dallas, TX: store page FAQ: local.fedex.com/en-us/tx/dallas/office-0178 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5225 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington, DC: store page FAQ: local.fedex.com/en-us/dc/washington/office-0388 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store, "Faxing Services": theupsstore.com/store-services/faxing-service (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store, 60 Thoreau St, Concord, MA: "Faxing & Scanning" store page: locations.theupsstore.com/ma/concord/60-thoreau-st/faxing-&-scanning (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- The UPS Store press release (franchise and pricing disclaimer): theupsstore.com/about/pressroom/franchise-500-2025 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Staples, "In Store Printing": staples.com/services/printing/in-store-printing (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Denver Public Library, "Need a Computer, Internet, or Printing?": denverlibrary.org/tech/techaccess (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Cincinnati & Hamilton County Public Library, "Fax and Print": chpl.org/services/fax-print (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Orange County Library System, FAQ (fax): ocls.org/frequently-asked-questions/?_faq_topics=fax (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Orange County Library System, "Library Fees": ocls.info/using-library/fees/library-fees (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Mid-Continent Public Library, "Fax Machine": mymcpl.org/services/fax-machine (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
- Carlsbad City Library, "Does the library have a fax machine for public use?": carlsbadca.libanswers.com/faq/250099 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)