Guide · Passport photos · All figures last checked

Passport photos: where to get one, what it costs, and the official rules (2026)

Every U.S. passport application needs one photo that meets the State Department's rules. Here's where to get one, what each place officially charges, and how to take it yourself. Each figure links to its source.

Not affiliated with the government. Errand Desk is an independent site. We're not part of the U.S. Department of State, USPS, or any business listed here. For official rules, always check travel.state.gov. This is general information, not legal advice. The State Department makes the final call on whether a photo is accepted.

Short version: Published passport photo prices run from $7.64 (Walmart Photo's listing, quantity not stated) to $17.99 (CVS, two prints) [6][5]. Post offices charge $15.00 for photos [7]. The UPS Store publishes no national price [3]. You may also take the photo yourself, and a friend or family member can take it [1]. The photo is separate from the $35 acceptance fee charged where you apply in person [9].

Where to get a passport photo: price comparison

Prices are what each company's own page showed on Oct 21, 2026. Single-store prices are labeled as examples. "Not stated" means the official page doesn't say.

WherePublished priceDigital copy (for online renewal)Appointment?Notes
Walmart Photo Center$7.64, as listed on Walmart Photo's passport photo page. The number of prints per order isn't stated on that page [6].Optional USB "with images for online renewals." Price not stated [6].No [6]In-store only, at Walmart Supercenter Photo Centers [6].
USPS (Post Office)$15.00 Post Office photo fee [7]Digital photo service at "many" passport locations [7]USPS asks you to book photo services by appointment, with limited walk-in hours at some locations [7]."Most" passport-accepting Post Offices can take photos [7].
FedEx Office$15.95 for two 2"×2" photos, per FedEx Office store pages [2]Not statedNot statedStore pages say the service is "available at any FedEx Office location nationwide" [2].
Walgreens$16.99 for two 2×2 printed photos [4]Free emailed digital copy with purchase [4]No [4]In-store only, "at most of our Walgreens locations" [4].
CVS$17.99 for two 2×2 prints [5]$3.99 emailed digital copy (select locations). $10.99 on a USB drive [5]No [5]"Select CVS Pharmacy locations." In store only [5].
The UPS StoreNo national price published [3]. Example store (Charlotte, NC): $19.99 plus tax for one printed U.S. set of 2 photos [8].Example store: $19.99 plus tax, or $32.99 plus tax for digital and printed together [8]Online booking at "more than 3,900 locations" [3]Stores are franchises, and "products, services, prices, and hours of operation may vary by location" [3].
CostcoWe found no official Costco passport photo page, so we list no price. News reports in 2021 said Costco was closing its in-store photo centers (reported, not official) [11].

Photo fees vs. passport fees

Official photo requirements (State Department)

From the State Department's passport photo page [1]:

Digital photo rules for online renewal

From the State Department's "Uploading a Digital Photo" page [10]:

Common reasons photos get rejected

The State Department says "Unacceptable photos are the number one reason why we put passport applications on hold" [1]. Its unacceptable examples include [1]:

Taking your own photo (DIY)

The State Department lists "a friend or family member" alongside acceptance facilities and photo companies as a place to get your photo [1]. If you do it yourself, it must meet every rule above. The official tips [1]:

Tips before you go

  1. Call ahead. Walgreens, CVS and The UPS Store all say the service is at most, select or participating locations, not every store [4][5][3].
  2. Renewing online? Ask for a digital copy. Walgreens includes one free, and CVS charges $3.99 at select locations [4][5].
  3. Wear everyday clothes (no uniform or camouflage), and take off your glasses before the photo [1].
  4. Applying in person at a Post Office? You can book photos with your application appointment [7].

FAQ

How much does a passport photo cost?

Published prices we found: $7.64 at Walmart Photo, $15.00 at Post Offices, $15.95 at FedEx Office, $16.99 at Walgreens and $17.99 at CVS [6][7][2][4][5]. The UPS Store has no national price. One example store charges $19.99 plus tax [3][8].

Can I take my own passport photo?

Yes. The State Department lists "a friend or family member" as an option. The photo must still meet all requirements, including 2 × 2 inch size and photo-quality paper [1].

Can I wear glasses in my passport photo?

No, unless you can't remove them for medical reasons. In that case, include a signed doctor's note [1].

Is the photo included in the passport fee?

No. Photo vendors and acceptance facilities charge separately for photos [1]. The $35 acceptance fee covers accepting your application, not the photo [9][7].

What photo do I need to renew online?

A digital color photo taken in the last 6 months, in JPG, JPEG, PNG, HEIC or HEIF format and between 54 KB and 10 MB [10].

Sources

All sources last checked Oct 21, 2026. Store pages are examples, and other locations may differ.

  1. U.S. Department of State, "Passport Photos" (page last updated Mar 24, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/photos.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  2. FedEx Office store pages (passport photo FAQ), e.g. Dallas, TX: local.fedex.com/en-us/tx/dallas/office-0178 and Washington, DC: local.fedex.com/en-us/dc/washington/office-0388 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  3. The UPS Store, "Passport & ID Photo Services": theupsstore.com/store-services/passport-photos (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  4. Walgreens Photo, "Passport and Visa Photos": photo.walgreens.com/store/passport-photos (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  5. CVS Photo, "CVS Passport Photos": cvs.com/photo/passport-photos (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  6. Walmart Photo, "Passport and Visa Photos": photos3.walmart.com/category/83-passport-photos (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  7. USPS, "Passport Appointments, Renewals, & Photo Services": usps.com/international/passports.htm (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  8. The UPS Store, 9935 Rea Rd, Charlotte, NC: passport photos page: locations.theupsstore.com/nc/charlotte/9935-rea-rd/passport-photos (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  9. U.S. Department of State, "Passport Fees" (page last updated Mar 19, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/fees.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  10. U.S. Department of State, "Uploading a Digital Photo" (page last updated May 4, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/renew-replace/online/upload-digital-photo.html (last checked Oct 21, 2026)
  11. WISN (Milwaukee), "Costco is shutting down all of its photo centers," Jan 14, 2021 (news report, not an official Costco source): wisn.com/article/costco-shutting-down-all-of-its-photo-centers/35214765 (last checked Oct 21, 2026)