Guide · Photocopies · All figures last checked

Where to make photocopies: prices and free options (2026)

Staples and CVS publish national copy prices, and FedEx Office store pages list "starting at" prices. The UPS Store sets prices by location, and many public libraries have copiers at low or no cost. This page uses only official pages. Prices for printing from a file are in our printing price guide.

Short version: Black-and-white copies are from $0.34 a page at Staples and 29¢ at select CVS stores. FedEx Office says prices vary by store, and two FedEx Office store pages list $0.23 and $0.24 [1][2][5][6][12]. Library copiers are often cheaper. Some, like Seattle and Denver, include free pages [14][15].

How much do copies cost? Store-by-store table

Only what each company's own website says. "Starting at" prices are the lowest listed price, usually a single-sided letter-size page. Store prices below are examples from individual store pages, not national prices.

StoreBlack and whiteColorSelf-service or staff
Staples From $0.34 per page [1][2] From $0.82 per page [1][2] Online, full-service and self-service copies [2]. Self-service machines let you copy, print, scan and fax and pay at the machine [3].
FedEx Office No national price published. FedEx Office says "Prices vary by store" [4]. Examples: starting at $0.23 (Dallas, TX) and $0.24 (Washington, DC) [5][6]. Examples: starting at $0.71 (Dallas) and $0.76 (Washington, DC) [5][6]. Self-service copiers for letter, legal and up to tabloid (11" x 17") [4][5].
The UPS Store No national price published. Locations are individually owned and services may vary [7]. Examples: $0.14 (Mechanicsburg, PA, 1-99 copies) and $0.15 (Warson Woods, MO) per letter-size page [8][9]. Examples: $0.53 (Mechanicsburg, 1-49 copies) and $0.69 (Warson Woods) [8][9]. The Warson Woods page says its copies are "full service copies made for you by the staff" [9].
Office Depot / OfficeMax Copy price not stated. Its document printing page lists starting at $0.18 per page [10]. Document printing: starting at $0.70 per page [10]. Self-service printers in store [11].
CVS 29¢ single-sided, 40¢ double-sided [12] $1.19 single-sided, $1.30 double-sided [12] At a KODAK Picture Kiosk in select stores [12].
Walgreens Walk-in copy price not stated. Walgreens' business printing price list shows document printing at $0.28 per single-sided black-and-white page (1-499) [13]. Document printing: $0.99 per single-sided color page (1-499) [13]. The price list is for printing files you send. It doesn't say whether stores copy paper originals [13].

Prices can differ by store, paper size, quantity and finishing. Call the location for a large or special job.

How much does it cost to make copies at Staples?

Staples lists copies from $0.34 per page in black and white and from $0.82 per page in color [1][2]. It offers online, full-service and self-service copies [2]. The self-service machines can copy, print, scan and fax, and you "pay at the machine and go" [3].

How much does it cost to make copies at FedEx Office?

FedEx Office's national page says self-service copy and print prices vary by store, so contact your local store [4]. Two store pages, as examples: Dallas, TX lists "Starting at price $0.23 for black and white and $0.71 for color," and Washington, DC lists $0.24 and $0.76 [5][6]. Both say you can use self-service copiers for letter, legal or anything up to tabloid size [5][6].

How much does it cost to make copies at The UPS Store?

There's no national price. The UPS Store says its locations are individually owned and operated, so services may vary. You can bring in a job or call for a quote [7]. Two store pages, as examples:

How much does it cost to make copies at Office Depot or OfficeMax?

Office Depot's national pages we checked don't state a separate per-page copy price. Its document printing page lists starting at $0.18 per page in black and white and $0.70 per page in color, and stores have self-service printers [10][11]. Ask your store what it charges to copy paper originals.

Can I make copies at CVS or Walgreens?

CVS: yes, at select stores. CVS says it offers copy and print services at a KODAK Picture Kiosk and accepts "physical documents or hard copies" as well as USB drives with PDF files. Black-and-white copies are 29¢ single-sided and 40¢ double-sided. Color copies are $1.19 and $1.30 [12].

Walgreens: its business printing price list shows document printing, for example $0.28 per single-sided black-and-white page and $0.99 per single-sided color page for 1-499 pages [13]. That list is for printing files. It doesn't say whether stores copy paper originals, so call your store.

Where can I make copies for free or cheap?

Many public libraries have copiers. Prices and free allowances are set by each library system. These are examples, not a complete list:

Search your library's website for "copy" or "print" to find its prices. Some libraries are cashless and some take cash only.

Tips before you go

  1. Count double-sided pages. At least one UPS Store counts a double-sided page as two copies, and CVS charges more for double-sided [9][12].
  2. Bring a card or cash, depending on the place. Houston Public Library is cashless, and Metro Library takes bills, coins or cards [16][17].
  3. Ask for a quote on a big job. The UPS Store quotes each job, and Mechanicsburg's per-page price drops with quantity [7][8].
  4. Copying an ID or a document for a passport application or notary? See where to get something notarized and passport photo prices.
  5. Printing from a file, or want a digital copy? See how much it costs to print and where to scan documents.

FAQ

How much does it cost to make copies at Staples?

Staples lists copies from $0.34 per page in black and white and from $0.82 per page in color, with full-service and self-service options [1][2].

How much are copies at FedEx Office?

FedEx Office says prices vary by store. Two store pages list starting prices of $0.23 and $0.24 for black and white, and $0.71 and $0.76 for color [4][5][6].

How much are copies at The UPS Store?

There's no national price, because locations are individually owned. Two store pages, as examples, list black-and-white letter copies at $0.14 (1-99 copies) and $0.15 [7][8][9].

Does CVS make copies?

Yes, at select stores, at a KODAK Picture Kiosk. Black-and-white copies are 29¢ single-sided and color copies are $1.19 single-sided [12].

Where can I make copies for free?

Check your public library. For example, Seattle Public Library gives 10 free black-and-white pages a week, and Denver Public Library offers free printing and copying up to 100 pages [14][15].

Is a double-sided copy charged as one page or two?

It depends on the store. The UPS Store in Warson Woods, MO says double-sided counts as two copies. CVS lists a separate double-sided price of 40¢ for black and white [9][12].

Sources

All sources last checked Oct 27, 2026. Store and library pages are examples, and prices can differ by location.

  1. Staples, "Document Printing": staples.com/services/printing/copies-documents-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  2. Staples, "Copies" offer page: staples.com/services/printing/offers/color-copies-and-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  3. Staples, "In Store Printing": staples.com/services/printing/in-store-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  4. FedEx Office, "In-Store Self-Service Copy & Printing": office.fedex.com/default/copy-and-print-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  5. FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5962 W Northwest Hwy, Dallas, TX: store page: local.fedex.com/en-us/tx/dallas/office-0178 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  6. FedEx Office Print & Ship Center, 5225 Wisconsin Ave NW, Washington, DC: store page: local.fedex.com/en-us/dc/washington/office-0388 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  7. The UPS Store, "Copies": theupsstore.com/print/copies (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  8. The UPS Store, 4900 Carlisle Pike, Mechanicsburg, PA: "Copies & Documents" store page: locations.theupsstore.com/pa/mechanicsburg/4900-carlisle-pike/copies-&-documents (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  9. The UPS Store, 9909 Manchester Road, Warson Woods, MO: "Copies & Documents" store page: locations.theupsstore.com/mo/warson-woods/9909-manchester-road/copies-&-documents (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  10. Office Depot, "Document Printing": officedepot.com/l/print-and-copy/document-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  11. Office Depot, "In-store Self-Service Printing": officedepot.com/l/print-and-copy/self-service-printing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  12. CVS Photo, "Copy & Print Service": cvs.com/photo/copy-print-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  13. Walgreens Photo Help, "Business Printing Pricing": wagcco.my.salesforce-sites.com/pkb2/articles/en_US/Knowledge/Business-Printing-Pricing-2-0v (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  14. The Seattle Public Library, "Print & Copy": spl.org/using-the-library/…/print-and-copy (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  15. Denver Public Library, "Need a Computer, Internet, or Printing?": denverlibrary.org/tech/techaccess (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  16. Houston Public Library, Ask HPL, "Is it possible to print, copy, scan or fax?": askhpl.houstonlibrary.org/usingthelibrary/faq/349055 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  17. Metropolitan Library System, "How much does it cost to make copies in the library?": help.metrolibrary.org/questions/7789 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
  18. Orange County Library System, "Print, Copy, Scan, & Fax Fees": ocls.org/using-library/amenities-fax-fees/print-copy-scan-fax-fees (last checked Oct 27, 2026)