US passport application checklist: what to bring (2026)
What to bring for a first-time adult passport, a renewal by mail, an online renewal or a child's passport, taken only from the U.S. Department of State's own pages. For the photo itself, see our passport photo guide.
Not legal advice. This page is general information drawn from official pages. Your situation may need other documents, so check the State Department pages linked below before you go. Errand Desk isn't affiliated with the U.S. Department of State or any other government agency.
Which passport application do I need? Comparison by situation
Only what the State Department's pages say. Fees are the State Department's published fees as of the "Last Updated" date on each page.
| Where | Form | Fees (book / card / both) | Photo | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First-time adult, or not eligible to renew | In person at an acceptance facility [2] | DS-11, printed single-sided, unsigned until the agent asks [2] | $130 / $30 / $160, plus a $35 acceptance fee paid to the facility [1] | 1 photo, not stapled or attached [2] |
| Adult renewal by mail | By mail [3] | DS-82, printed single-sided [3] | $130 / $30 / $160. No $35 fee [1] | 1 photo, stapled with four staples [3] |
| Adult renewal online | Online at opr.travel.state.gov only [4] | Online application [4] | $130 / $30 / $160, by credit or debit card [4] | Digital photo [4] |
| Child under 16 | In person, every time [8] | DS-11 [1] | $100 / $15 / $115, plus a $35 acceptance fee [1][8] | Not stated on the child page |
What do I need to bring for a first-time adult passport?
"First-time adults and those who do not qualify for renewal must apply in-person at an acceptance facility." That includes passports that were lost, stolen or damaged, issued over 15 years ago, or issued when you were under 16 [2]. Bring:
- Form DS-11, printed single-sided. "We do not accept double-sided forms." Don't sign it until the acceptance agent asks you to [2].
- Proof of US citizenship on paper, such as a US birth certificate, a full-validity undamaged US passport, a Consular Report of Birth Abroad, or a Certificate of Naturalization or Citizenship. Digital or mobile birth certificates aren't accepted [2][5].
- A photocopy of that citizenship document, plus the original or a replacement that has the seal or stamp [2].
- A physical, government-issued photo ID. If your ID is from a different state than the one you're applying in, bring a second photo ID [2][6].
- A photocopy of the front and back of your ID [2][6].
- One passport photo, loose. "Do not attach or staple your photo to the form" [2].
- Two payments. The application fee goes to the U.S. Department of State by check or money order. The $35 acceptance fee goes to the facility, which sets its own payment methods [1].
What are the photocopy rules for a passport application?
Photocopies must be on white 8.5 x 11 inch standard paper, on one side of the paper, and clear and easy to read [5][6]. Copy the front of your citizenship evidence, and the back too if it has printed information [5]. For your ID, copy the front and back of each ID you present. "Do not decrease the image size. You may make the image size bigger" [6]. Our photocopy guide lists per-page prices.
Can I renew my passport by mail?
You can if all of these are true: you can submit your most recent passport; it has never been reported lost or stolen; it was issued within the last 15 years; it was issued when you were 16 or older and was valid for 10 years; it's in your current name, or you can show a document like a marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order; and it isn't damaged beyond normal wear [3].
Send the signed DS-82, your most recent passport, a certified name-change document if needed, one photo stapled with four staples, and the fee by personal check or money order payable to the U.S. Department of State. "Do not send cash" [3]. Your old passport comes back separately, which "may take up to 2 weeks after you get your new passport" [3]. Postal employees shouldn't charge you the $35 facility fee [3].
Where to mail it, per the State Department [3]:
- Routine, if you live in CA, FL, IL, MN, NY or TX: National Passport Processing Center, PO Box 640155, Irving, TX 75064-0155.
- Routine, other states: PO Box 90155, Philadelphia, PA 19190-0155.
- Expedited: write "EXPEDITE" on the envelope and send to PO Box 90955, Philadelphia, PA 19190-0955.
Who can renew a passport online?
Online renewal requires all of these: your passport is (or was) valid for 10 years and expires within 1 year or expired less than 5 years ago; you're 25 or older; you aren't changing your name, sex or other personal information; you won't travel for at least 6 weeks; you're in a US state or territory when you apply; and you have your passport with you, undamaged and not reported lost or stolen [4]. "Online renewals cannot be expedited" [4].
The passport you're renewing is cancelled after you submit, and you keep it rather than mailing it in. "The only official, authorized place to renew your U.S. passport online is opr.travel.state.gov," and a third-party service can't submit for you [4].
What do I need for a child's passport (under 16)?
"Both parents or guardians must be present with the child applying in person." You can't renew a child's passport, and passports for children under 16 are valid for 5 years [8]. Bring proof of the parent relationship, and each parent brings a physical photo ID plus single-sided 8.5 x 11 photocopies [8].
If a parent can't come, they sign and date Form DS-3053 (Statement of Consent) in front of a notary public and provide a photocopy of their ID. The form must be submitted "within 90 days after they are signed or notarized" [8]. For where to find a notary, see our notary guide.
How much does a passport cost in 2026?
| Book | Card | Book and card | Acceptance fee | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adult, first time (DS-11) | $130 | $30 | $160 | $35 |
| Adult renewal (mail or online) | $130 | $30 | $160 | None |
| Child under 16 (DS-11) | $100 | $15 | $115 | $35 |
Source: U.S. Department of State fees page [1]. Optional extras: expedited service $60; 1-3 day return delivery $26.87, not offered for card-only applications. A file search, if you can't get citizenship evidence, may cost $150 [1]. "We cannot refund the passport application fee and the execution fee." The $60 expedite fee may be refunded if the application "wasn't processed within our stated timeframe" [1].
Where do I apply, and how long does it take?
"There are over 7,500 acceptance facilities across the United States," including post offices, clerks of courts, public libraries and other local government offices. They may require appointments, and they don't accept renewals [7]. Passport agencies are for travel within 14 calendar days or a foreign visa needed within 28 calendar days; they require an appointment, proof of travel and the $60 expedite fee [7].
"Routine processing takes 4-6 weeks." "Expedited processing takes 2-3 weeks." Mailing isn't included: allow up to 2 weeks each way [9]. The State Department says its less busy period is between October and December. Check status at passportstatus.state.gov [9].
Tips before you go
- Print forms single-sided. Double-sided forms aren't accepted [2].
- Bring paper, not a phone. Digital birth certificates and digital IDs aren't accepted [2][6].
- Ask the facility how it takes the $35 fee. The State Department says to check with the facility for payment methods [1]. If you need a money order for the application fee, see our money order guide.
- Need a document certified for use abroad? That's a separate process. See our apostille guide.
FAQ
What documents do I need for a first-time passport?
Form DS-11, paper proof of US citizenship and a photocopy, a physical photo ID and a photocopy of the front and back, one photo, and the fees [2].
How much is a passport book in 2026?
For a first-time adult, $130 to the State Department plus a $35 acceptance fee. An adult renewal is $130 with no acceptance fee [1].
Can I renew my child's passport by mail?
No. "You cannot renew a child's passport. You must apply in-person each time" [8].
Can I pay the passport fee with a card?
For online renewal, yes, by credit or debit card. Passport agencies also take credit and debit cards. For a DS-11 at an acceptance facility or a mail renewal, the application fee is paid by check or money order, and the facility sets its own payment methods for the $35 fee [1][4].
Related guides
- Passport photo cost by store, and the official photo rules: Walmart, USPS, FedEx Office, Walgreens, CVS and The UPS Store.
- Where to make photocopies: per-page copy prices at Staples, FedEx Office, The UPS Store, CVS and public libraries.
- Where to get a money order, and what it costs: USPS fees and limits, Walmart, Western Union, MoneyGram and 7-Eleven, plus cashier's checks.
- Where to get something notarized, and what it costs: banks, credit unions, libraries, AAA, The UPS Store and online notary, plus state fee limits.
- How to get an apostille: state fees from official pages, and when the U.S. Department of State is involved.
- All guides
Sources
All sources last checked Oct 27, 2026. Each is a U.S. Department of State page; its own "Last Updated" date is shown.
- U.S. Department of State, passport fees page (Last Updated March 19, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/fees.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, adult passport application page (Last Updated May 04, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/adults.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, renew by mail page (Last Updated October 01, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/renew-replace/mail.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, renew online page (Last Updated September 30, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/renew-replace/online.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, citizenship evidence page (Last Updated October 05, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/citizenship-evidence.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, photo ID page (Last Updated October 05, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/photo-id.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, where to apply page (Last Updated July 08, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/where-to-apply.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, children under 16 page (Last Updated October 01, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/child/under-16.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- U.S. Department of State, processing times page (Last Updated October 05, 2026): travel.state.gov/en/passports/apply/help/processing-time.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)