Where to get a money order and what it costs (2026)
You can buy a money order at any Post Office, at Walmart, and at many stores that sell Western Union or MoneyGram money orders. Fees, limits and accepted payment methods differ. This page uses only official pages from USPS, the retailers, the money order companies and the FDIC, and says so when a fee isn't published.
How much does a money order cost? Comparison table
Only what each official page says. "No national price published" means the page doesn't list one fee, usually because it varies by location. "Not stated" means the page doesn't say. It doesn't mean there's no limit or that the option isn't available.
| Where | Fee | Max per money order | How you can pay |
|---|---|---|---|
| USPS (Post Office) | $2.65 for $0.01 to $500.00. $3.75 for $500.01 to $1,000.00. Postal Military Money Orders: $0.85 [1]. | $1,000 (domestic) [1] | Cash or debit card. "You cannot pay with a credit card" [1]. Checks can't be used to buy money orders [2]. |
| Walmart | $1 maximum. "Exact charges vary by location, but they won't be over $1" [3]. | Not stated on the official page; ask at the store. | Cash or debit card at a Walmart Money Center or Customer Service Desk [3]. |
| Western Union (agent locations) | No national price published. "A nominal fee may be charged ... with the amount varying by location" [4]. | Varies: "some locations may have limits on the maximum money order amount" [4]. | Cash or debit card, depending on the location [4]. |
| 7-Eleven (Western Union) | No national price published; call your store. | "There may be limits per money order depending on the store" [5]. | "Most locations allow you to pay using cash" [5]. |
| MoneyGram (agent locations) | No national price published; call the location. | $1,000 in the US, and limits "may vary slightly" by state and location [6]. | Not stated; MoneyGram suggests confirming accepted payment methods before you go [6]. |
| CVS | Not stated on official pages; call your store. MoneyGram's CVS page covers money transfers at CVS. It doesn't say whether CVS sells money orders [8]. | ||
| Banks and credit unions | No national price published; fees vary by bank. Check your bank's fee schedule. | Not stated | Not stated; ask your bank. |
How much is a money order at the Post Office?
USPS publishes its fees nationally [1]:
- $0.01 to $500.00: $2.65
- $500.01 to $1,000.00: $3.75
- Postal Military Money Orders (issued by military facilities): $0.85
You can send up to $1,000 in a single domestic money order. Go to any Post Office, bring cash or a debit card, fill out the money order at the counter with a retail associate, and pay the amount plus the fee. Keep your receipt to track it [1].
USPS's payment FAQ lists money orders among things that can't be paid with a credit card, and says checks can't be accepted for the purchase of money orders [2].
Where can I get a money order?
- Any Post Office: USPS says you can buy or cash postal money orders at any Post Office location [1].
- Walmart: money orders are sold at Walmart Money Centers and Customer Service Desks, "Powered by Western Union" [3].
- Western Union agent locations: use Western Union's location finder to check that a location sells money orders before you go [4].
- 7-Eleven: Western Union says you can buy a Western Union money order "at select 7‑Eleven locations" [5].
- MoneyGram agent locations: MoneyGram money orders are sold at retail locations across the US [6].
- Banks and credit unions: the FDIC says you can buy a money order from "a bank, store, or the U.S. Postal Service," and you don't need an account at a financial institution to buy one [9]. Whether a particular bank sells them to non-customers isn't stated, so call.
What do I need to bring to buy a money order?
- Payment: cash or a debit card at USPS and Walmart [1][3]. At Western Union locations it depends on the location [4].
- Who you're paying: Walmart says to "bring payee & purchaser details" [3].
- ID for larger amounts: MoneyGram suggests bringing identification if needed and checking whether ID may be required for larger amounts [6].
Money order vs cashier's check: what's the difference?
According to the FDIC [9]:
- Money order: you pay the amount plus a fee to a bank, store or the Postal Service. You don't need a bank account. It can't "bounce," because it's paid for up front, and money orders are usually easy to replace if lost or stolen.
- Cashier's check: a check guaranteed by a financial institution. The bank takes the money from your checking or savings account, then writes the check to the person or business you're paying. It's also guaranteed not to bounce and can be replaced if lost or stolen.
Cashier's check fees and limits are set by each bank. We didn't find a national price, so check your bank's fee schedule.
How do I track a money order?
- USPS: check the status in USPS's Money Orders application. You need the serial number, Post Office number and dollar amount [1].
- MoneyGram: check online with "Money Order Status," or call the automated line at 1-800-542-3590, with the money order number and exact dollar amount. If it hasn't been cashed, you can request a refund online [7].
- Western Union (including Walmart and 7-Eleven): keep your receipt. Western Union says it has the details you need to check status or request a refund [4][5].
What if a money order is lost or stolen?
- USPS: you can't stop payment, but a lost or stolen postal money order can be replaced. Confirming the loss may take up to 30 days, and the investigation may take up to 60 days. The processing fee is $23.00. Start a Money Order Inquiry at a Post Office with your receipt [1].
- Western Union: submit the online Money Order Refund Request Form. "Additional fees may apply" [4].
- MoneyGram: check the status first. If it hasn't been cashed, request a refund online. A photocopy of a cashed money order has a non-refundable $18 processing fee and takes 3 to 8 business days [7].
How do I cash a money order?
- USPS money orders: cash them free at a Post Office. Don't sign it until you're at the counter with a retail associate, and bring a primary photo ID. You can also cash them at most banks and some stores [1].
- Western Union money orders: you may be able to cash them at banks and some retailers, which may charge a fee, or deposit them. Not every Western Union location cashes them [4], and 7-Eleven doesn't cash Western Union money orders [5].
- Do they expire? USPS domestic money orders never expire [1]. Western Union money orders don't expire, but depending on the state, a non-refundable service charge may be deducted if one isn't used or cashed within one to three years [4].
Tips before you go
- Bring cash or a debit card. USPS doesn't take credit cards for money orders [1].
- Need more than $1,000? USPS's limit is $1,000 per domestic money order [1]. MoneyGram says you may be able to buy more than one in the same visit, though limits may apply [6].
- Keep the receipt. USPS, Western Union and MoneyGram all use it, or its details, for tracking and refunds [1][4][7].
- Got a money order? Check it's real. USPS lets you verify a postal money order online, by scanning its QR code, or at 1-866-459-7822 [1].
- Sending paperwork with it? If the form also needs a notary stamp, see where to get something notarized or the free notary options. If the payee takes documents by fax, see how much it costs to fax.
FAQ
How much does a money order cost at the Post Office?
USPS charges $2.65 for money orders from $0.01 to $500.00 and $3.75 for $500.01 to $1,000.00 [1].
How much does a money order cost at Walmart?
Walmart says exact charges vary by location but won't be over $1 [3].
Can I buy a money order with a credit card?
Not at the Post Office. USPS says to bring cash or a debit card, and you cannot pay with a credit card [1][2]. Walmart lists cash or debit card [3].
What is the maximum amount for a money order?
USPS domestic money orders are limited to $1,000 each. MoneyGram's US limit is also $1,000, and it may vary slightly by state and location [1][6].
How do I check the status of a money order?
For USPS, use the Money Orders application with the serial number, Post Office number and amount. For MoneyGram, use Money Order Status online or call 1-800-542-3590 [1][7].
Is a cashier's check the same as a money order?
No. The FDIC says a cashier's check is guaranteed by a financial institution and drawn from your account, while you can buy a money order without a bank account by paying the amount plus a fee [9].
Related guides
- Where to get something notarized, and what it costs: banks, credit unions, libraries, AAA, The UPS Store and online notary, plus state fee limits.
- Where to get something notarized for free: bank notary policies, credit unions, libraries and AAA.
- How much it costs to fax: The UPS Store, FedEx Office, Staples and public libraries, including free library options.
- Where to shred documents: per-pound prices at Staples, Office Depot, The UPS Store and FedEx Office, plus free county and credit union shred days.
- How to ship a package: USPS retail prices, UPS and FedEx rate tools, what to bring, drop-off vs pickup and tracking.
- All guides
Sources
All sources last checked Oct 27, 2026. Fees at retail and agent locations can differ by store.
- USPS, "Money Orders": usps.com/shop/money-orders.htm (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- USPS, "What Forms of Payment are Accepted?": faq.usps.com/articles/Knowledge/What-Forms-of-Payment-are-Accepted (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Walmart, "Money Orders": walmart.com/cp/money-orders/5791922 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Western Union, "Money orders: Purchase & cash at a Western Union near you": westernunion.com/us/en/money-order.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Western Union, "Western Union Money Orders at 7-Eleven": westernunion.com/us/en/locations/7-eleven.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- MoneyGram, "Money order limits: What you need to know": moneygram.com/blog/money-order-limits-what-you-need-to-know (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- MoneyGram, Help Center, "Managing" money orders FAQ: moneygram.com/us/en/help-center/faq/services/managing (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- MoneyGram, "Send and receive money | Find a CVS location": moneygram.com/us/en/cvs (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- FDIC, "Deposit Accounts" (Consumer Resource Center): fdic.gov/consumer-resource-center/deposit-accounts (last checked Oct 27, 2026)