Mobile notary fees by state: what the law caps (2026)
A mobile notary is a notary public who comes to you, at home, at work, at a hospital or anywhere else you arrange. State law usually caps the notary fee for each act or signature. Travel is a separate charge, and states handle it differently. Here is the cap and any travel-fee rule for every state and D.C., taken only from statutes and state pages.
Not legal advice. This page is general information from official state sources. Fee laws change, so check the official page for your state before you rely on a figure. Errand Desk isn't affiliated with any government agency or notary service.
What is a mobile notary?
It's a commissioned notary public who travels to the signer instead of having the signer come to an office. The notarial act is the same one you'd get at a bank or a shipping store. What changes is the bill: you pay the notary fee allowed by your state, plus any travel fee you agree to. Several states describe that travel fee in their notary laws, for example North Carolina allows "actual mileage at the federal business mileage rate if the travel reimbursement is agreed to by the principal in writing prior to the travel" [36].
A mobile notary is different from remote online notarization, where you meet a notary over video. For online options and in-person places that may be free, see where to get something notarized and free notary options.
How much can a mobile notary charge? Fee caps and travel rules by state
"Not stated in the source we checked" means the official page or statute we read doesn't set a travel rule. It doesn't mean travel fees are banned or unlimited. States marked See official page are ones where we couldn't confirm the figure from an official source today.
| State | Maximum notary fee (in person) | Travel fee rule | Official source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Up to $10 for each notarial act (a "reasonable fee") | Not stated in the source we checked | [1] |
| Alaska | No maximum in state law. A notary who charges must give the signer a fee schedule before the act | Not stated in the source we checked | [2] |
| Arizona | See official page. Per-act fees are set by Secretary of State rule, which we couldn't read today | Up to the mileage and per diem rates allowed for state employees | [3] |
| Arkansas | No dollar maximum. A fee must be "reasonable" and agreed before the act | Not stated in the source we checked | [4] |
| California | $15 per signature for an acknowledgment; $15 for a jurat or oath | Travel fees, if any, should be listed separately in the notary's journal. No cap stated | [5] |
| Colorado | $15 per document | Notaries must document any mileage or travel charges along with the notary fee. No cap stated | [6] |
| Connecticut | $10 per act (from July 1, 2026) | Mileage up to the IRS business standard mileage rate | [7] |
| Delaware | $5 per act on a paper record | State law doesn't address travel fees. The state says to give customers an itemized fee list before traveling | [8][9] |
| District of Columbia | See official page. Per-act fees are set by the Mayor's rule | Actual and reasonable travel expense, agreed in advance, in writing, itemized and separate from the notary fee | [10] |
| Florida | $10 per notarial act | Not stated in the source we checked | [11] |
| Georgia | $2 per notarial act | Not stated in the source we checked | [12] |
| Hawaii | Acknowledgment $5 for each party signing; oath $5 | Not stated in the source we checked | [13] |
| Idaho | Up to $5 per notarial act | "Actual and reasonable expense of travel" may also be paid | [14] |
| Illinois | $5 per act | Not stated in the source we checked | [15] |
| Indiana | Up to $10 per signature for listed acts | A "reasonable fee," not above federal travel rates set by the U.S. General Services Administration | [16] |
| Iowa | No dollar maximum. A notary "may charge a reasonable fee" | Not stated in the source we checked | [17] |
| Kansas | No dollar maximum. A fee must be disclosed and agreed before the act and recorded in the journal | Not stated in the source we checked | [18] |
| Kentucky | No dollar amount in this section. A fee must comply with KRS 64.300 and be clearly disclosed in advance | Not stated in the source we checked | [19] |
| Louisiana | No statutory fee schedule | Not stated in the source we checked | [20] |
| Maine | No dollar maximum in the state rules we checked. Any fee "must be disclosed in writing" and the notary "must obtain the individual’s consent to any fee to be charged prior to performing the notarial act" | Not stated in the source we checked | [21][54] |
| Maryland | $8 per notarial act | IRS business mileage rate plus a travel fee up to $5 | [22] |
| Massachusetts | See official page. The statute we checked lists fees for protests only | — | [23] |
| Michigan | Up to $10 per transaction or act | Notary and client may agree a separate travel fee before travel starts | [24] |
| Minnesota | $5 for each oath administered. For acknowledgments, "the legal fees allowed other officers for like services" | Not stated in the source we checked | [25] |
| Mississippi | Up to $5 | Not stated in the source we checked | [26] |
| Missouri | Acknowledgment, jurat or witnessing: $5 per signature | Must be agreed in advance and explained as separate and not set by law | [27] |
| Montana | Up to $10 per notarial act | Allowed as set by rule, explained as extra and not set by law, and agreed in advance | [28] |
| Nebraska | Acknowledgment $5; affidavit or oath $2 | Mileage is set only for serving notice of a protest | [29] |
| Nevada | Acknowledgment $15 first signature, $7.50 each additional; jurat $15 per signature | Only if you ask the notary to travel and agree the rate first: up to $15 an hour (6 a.m.–7 p.m.) or $30 an hour (7 p.m.–6 a.m.). A 2-hour minimum may be charged | [30] |
| New Hampshire | Up to $10 per act | Not stated in the source we checked | [31] |
| New Jersey | $2.50 per act. Real estate: $15 per sale transaction, $25 per financing transaction | Not stated in the source we checked | [32][33] |
| New Mexico | $5 per acknowledgment, oath or jurat | Agreed in advance and explained as separate and not set by law | [34] |
| New York | $2.00 for administering an oath or affirmation, or for taking an acknowledgment or proof of execution. An electronic notary may charge up to $25.00 per electronic notarial act | Not stated in the source we checked | [35] |
| North Carolina | $10 per notarized principal signature | Actual mileage at the federal business rate, if the signer agrees in writing before the travel | [36] |
| North Dakota | Up to $5 per notarial act | Agreed in advance and explained as separate | [37] |
| Ohio | Up to $5 per act (not per signature) | "A reasonable travel fee," agreed before the act | [38] |
| Oklahoma | Up to $5 per notarial act | Not stated in the source we checked | [39] |
| Oregon | $10 per act | Allowed if explained as extra and not set by law, and agreed in advance | [40] |
| Pennsylvania | Acknowledgment $5 for the first name, $2 each additional; oath or verification $5 | Travel is a clerical fee: "customary and reasonable," disclosed before notarizing and itemized on the receipt | [41] |
| Rhode Island | Up to $25 per document or notarization, disclosed before the act | Not stated in the source we checked | [42] |
| South Carolina | $5 per signature for an acknowledgment, jurat or witnessing | Agreed in advance and explained as separate and not set by law | [43] |
| South Dakota | No dollar maximum. A notary "may charge and receive a fee for each instrument notarized" | Not stated in the source we checked | [44] |
| Tennessee | No dollar maximum. "Reasonable fees and compensation" | Not stated in the source we checked | [45] |
| Texas | Acknowledgment $10 first signature, $1 each additional; oath with certificate $10 | Fees must be itemized. Travel not stated on the page we checked | [46] |
| Utah | $10 per signature for an acknowledgment or jurat | Up to the federal mileage rate, explained and agreed in advance | [47] |
| Vermont | No per-act maximum in the notary chapter we checked, which sets only commission fees | Not stated in the source we checked | [48] |
| Virginia | Up to $10 per act | "Actual and reasonable expense of traveling," with the signer's agreement | [49] |
| Washington | $15 per act | Agreed in advance and explained as extra and not required by law | [50] |
| West Virginia | $10 per signature | Not stated in the source we checked | [51] |
| Wisconsin | Up to $5 per document for acknowledgments and similar services | Not stated in the source we checked | [52] |
| Wyoming | Up to $10 per notarial act | Up to the IRS standard mileage rate, agreed in advance and explained as separate and not set by law | [53] |
Remote, online and electronic notarizations often have separate, higher caps that aren't shown here. Some states also set separate fees for copy certification, protests or other acts.
How do travel fees work?
Where state law addresses travel, the common rules in the sources above are:
- Agree in advance. Missouri, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina, Utah, Washington and Wyoming require the travel fee to be agreed before the travel, and the notary has to explain that it's separate from the notary fee and not set by law [27][34][37][40][43][47][50][53].
- A cap tied to mileage rates. Connecticut and Wyoming use the IRS standard mileage rate, North Carolina and Utah use the federal mileage rate, Indiana uses federal travel rates set by the General Services Administration, and Maryland allows the IRS rate plus up to $5 [7][53][36][47][16][22].
- An hourly cap. Nevada allows up to $15 an hour from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. and $30 an hour from 7 p.m. to 6 a.m., only if you asked the notary to travel [30].
- Itemize it. Pennsylvania treats travel as a clerical fee that must be disclosed before notarizing and itemized on the receipt, and California says travel fees should be identified separately in the notary's journal [41][5].
What should I ask before booking a mobile notary?
- The notary fee for each signature or act, and how many acts your documents need.
- The travel fee, in writing, and whether it's a flat amount, mileage or hourly.
- What ID the signer needs to bring, and whether any witnesses are needed.
- Whether the document needs anything after notarization, such as an apostille for use abroad.
Compare the quote with the cap in the table. If a notary fee is above your state's cap, ask the notary to explain it, or check with your state's notary office.
Mobile notary FAQ
Is a mobile notary fee the same as the travel fee?
No. The notary fee is for the notarial act and is capped in most states. The travel fee is a separate charge for coming to you. States that address it usually require you to agree to it in advance, and some cap it [40][53].
Can a notary charge whatever they want for travel?
It depends on the state. Some cap it, for example at the IRS standard mileage rate in Connecticut and Wyoming, or $15 to $30 an hour in Nevada [7][53][30]. Others only require that it be agreed in advance. Where our source doesn't state a rule, check with your state's notary office.
Which states have no fixed maximum notary fee?
In the sources we checked, Alaska, Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, South Dakota and Tennessee don't set a dollar maximum, though several require the fee to be reasonable or disclosed before the act [2][4][17][18][20][54][44][45].
Is the fee per signature or per document?
It varies. California, Missouri, South Carolina, Utah and West Virginia count per signature for some acts, Colorado counts per document, and Ohio says its fees "shall not be calculated on a per signature basis" [5][27][43][47][51][6][38].
Can I get something notarized for free instead?
Often, yes, if you can travel. Many banks and credit unions notarize for customers at no charge. See free notary options.
Related guides
- Where to get something notarized, and what it costs
- Where to get something notarized for free
- Notarize and copy in one trip
- How to get an apostille
- How to get a certified copy
- All guides
Sources
All sources last checked Oct 27, 2026.
- Alabama SB322 (2023), enrolled, amending Code of Ala. § 36-20-74: alison.legislature.state.al.us … SB322-enr.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Alaska Lieutenant Governor, Notaries Public FAQ: ltgov.alaska.gov/notaries-public/frequently-asked-questions (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Arizona Revised Statutes § 41-316: www.azleg.gov/ars/41/00316.htm (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Arkansas Secretary of State, Notary Public Handbook: sos.arkansas.gov/uploads/bcs/NotaryHandbook2025.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- California Secretary of State, Notary Public Handbook 2026 (Gov. Code § 8211): notary.cdn.sos.ca.gov/forms/notary-handbook-current.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Colorado Secretary of State, Notary Public FAQs: Fees: www.coloradosos.gov/pubs/notary/FAQ/fees.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Connecticut Public Act 26-81, § 13 (amending Gen. Stat. § 3-95, effective July 1, 2026): prdext2.cga.ct.gov … 2026PA-00081-R00SB-00294-PA.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Delaware Code Title 29, Chapter 43, § 4311: delcode.delaware.gov/title29/c043/sc01 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Delaware Notary Public, FAQs: notary.delaware.gov/faqs (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- D.C. Code § 1-1231.23: code.dccouncil.gov/us/dc/council/code/sections/1-1231.23 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Florida Statutes § 117.05 (2026): www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2026/0117.05 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Georgia Superior Court Clerks' Cooperative Authority, "Georgia Notary Law": www.gsccca.org/notary-and-apostilles/notaries/georgia-notary-law (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Hawaii Revised Statutes § 456-17: data.capitol.hawaii.gov … HRS_0456-0017.htm (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Idaho Secretary of State, Notary Public FAQ (Idaho Code § 51-133): sos.idaho.gov/notary-public (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Illinois, 5 ILCS 312/3-104: ilga.gov … 000503120K3-104.htm (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Indiana Code 2026, IC 33-42-14-1: iga.in.gov/ic/2026/Title_33/Article_42.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Iowa Secretary of State, Notary Public Handbook: publications.iowa.gov/53459/1/notaryhandbook.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Kansas Secretary of State, Notary Public Handbook: sos.ks.gov/general-services/notary_public/NotaryHandbook.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Kentucky Revised Statutes § 423.430: apps.legislature.ky.gov/law/statutes/statute.aspx?id=49515 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Louisiana Secretary of State, Notary FAQ: www.sos.la.gov/notary/frequently-asked-questions (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Maine Secretary of State, Notaries Public FAQ: maine.gov/sos/…/notaries-public-frequently-asked-questions (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Maryland Secretary of State, Notary FAQ (COMAR 01.02.08.02): sos.maryland.gov/Notary/Pages/FAQ.aspx (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Massachusetts General Laws ch. 262, § 41: malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartIII/TitleVI/Chapter262/Section41 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Michigan Compiled Laws § 55.285: www.legislature.mi.gov/Laws/MCL?objectName=mcl-55-285 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Minnesota Statutes § 357.17: www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/357.17 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Mississippi Secretary of State, Revised Mississippi Law on Notarial Acts (Miss. Code § 25-34-9): sos.ms.gov … Revised Mississippi Law on Notarial Acts.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Missouri Revised Statutes § 486.685: revisor.mo.gov/main/OneSection.aspx?section=486.685 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Montana Code Annotated § 1-5-626: mca.legmt.gov … 1-5-626 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Nebraska Revised Statutes § 33-133: nebraskalegislature.gov/laws/statutes.php?statute=33-133 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Nevada Revised Statutes ch. 240 (NRS 240.100, 240.197): www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-240.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New Hampshire RSA 455:11: gc.nh.gov/RSA/html/XLII/455/455-11.htm (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services, Notary Public FAQ: www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/pdf/NotaryFAQ.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New Jersey Notary Public Manual: www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/pdf/notarypublicmanual.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New Mexico Secretary of State, Notary Public Handbook: sos.nm.gov … Notary-Handbook-100223.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- New York Department of State, "Notary Public - Frequently Asked Questions": dos.ny.gov/notary-public-frequently-asked-questions (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- North Carolina General Statutes § 10B-31: ncleg.gov … GS_10B-31 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- North Dakota Century Code ch. 44-06.1 (§ 44-06.1-28): ndlegis.gov/cencode/t44c06-1.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Ohio Revised Code § 147.08: codes.ohio.gov/ohio-revised-code/section-147.08 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Oklahoma Statutes Title 49 (§ 5, § 209): oksenate.gov/sites/default/files/2022-05/os49.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Oregon Revised Statutes ch. 194 (ORS 194.400): www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors194.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Pennsylvania Department of State, "Notary Public Fees": www.pa.gov/agencies/dos/programs/notaries/notary-public-fees (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Rhode Island General Laws § 42-30.1-20.1: webserver.rilegislature.gov/Statutes/TITLE42/42-30.1/42-30.1-20.1.htm (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- South Carolina Code § 26-1-100: www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t26c001.php (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- South Dakota Codified Laws § 18-1-9: sdlegislature.gov/api/Statutes/18-1-9.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Tennessee Secretary of State, "What fee can a notary charge for their services?": sos.tn.gov/businesses/faqs/what-fee-can-a-notary-charge-for-their-services (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Texas Secretary of State, "Notary Public Educational Information" (Gov. Code § 406.024): www.sos.texas.gov/statdoc/edinfo.shtml (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Utah Code § 46-1-12: le.utah.gov/xcode/Title46/Chapter1/46-1-S12.html (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Vermont Statutes Title 26, Chapter 103 (Notaries Public): legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/103 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Code of Virginia § 47.1-19: law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title47.1/chapter1/section47.1-19 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Washington Administrative Code 308-30-220: app.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=308-30-220 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- West Virginia Code § 39-4-30: code.wvlegislature.gov/39-4-30 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Wisconsin Statutes § 140.02(9): docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/140/02/9 (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Wyoming Statutes Title 32 (W.S. 32-3-126): wyoleg.gov/statutes/compress/title32.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)
- Maine Secretary of State, Rules Chapter 700, "Rules Governing Notaries Public, Notarial Officers, Notarial Acts and the Procedures for Electronic and Remote Notarization," Section 2(5)(E): maine.gov/sos/…/Notary-20Rules.pdf (last checked Oct 27, 2026)